This is AdBlock's old support site. It is available for archival purposes only. To create a new discussion, or to visit the up-to-date knowledge base, please visit help.getadblock.com

Filter to disable auto refresh

chmaynard

20 Jun, 2015 03:00 PM

I want to install an AdBlock filter to disable auto refresh on the New York Times home page. My understanding is that NYT implements auto refresh by loading and running a Javascript file, but I don't have the details.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

1. 1 Posted by Kieran on 22 Jun, 2015 07:44 AM

Hi!

If you enable "Advanced Options" at AdBlock button -> Options -> GENERAL then a button on the AdBlock button should show up: "Show the resource list". If you use the resource list you might be able to find the relevant script that is causing this.

2. 2 Posted by chmaynard on 22 Jun, 2015 04:15 PM

Great tip, thanks. I don't see a script that refreshes the page, but I'm not a javascript programmer so I may have missed it.

3. 3 Posted by chmaynard on 22 Jun, 2015 04:45 PM

Great tip, thanks. I don't see a script that refreshes the page, but I'm not a javascript programmer so I may have missed it.

4. Support Staff 4 Posted by Rhana on 01 Jul, 2015 06:23 PM

Hi chmaynard,

Just following up, is this working for you?

Rhana
    AdBlock Community Manager

5. 5 Posted by chmaynard on 01 Jul, 2015 08:30 PM

Hi Rhana,

I was able to see the resource list for the NYT home page, but I could not identify a script that refreshes the page. Maybe they are using some other method?

Craig

6. Support Staff 6 Posted by Rhana on 06 Jul, 2015 07:03 PM

Hi Craig,

Hm. Good question. I'll ask our team. Maybe one of them has a suggestion.

Rhana

7. Support Staff 7 Posted by Rhana on 06 Jul, 2015 09:07 PM

Hi Craig,

According to our web developer: